… and then there were two.

Standard

TWINS??? OH. MY. GOSH. TWINS!!!

Yes, that’s EXACTLY what thought popped into my head while laying on the exam table Monday, November 8th, with Mr. Weenie Wand all up in my lady bits. I’d looked at enough ultrasound pictures over the past few months to know what twin sacs looked like in a uterus.

Taking a VERY slow, deep breath. I waited in nervous anticipation as the tech took all of the measurements and looked for heartbeats. She was great and explained everything to me as she went.

And then.

I saw them.

Two little flickering spots on the screen. Heart beats. My IFs’ babies had heartbeats! 

ultrasound

At the date of ultrasound I was estimated to be 6 weeks and 4 days. Baby A was measuring at 6 weeks 3 day and had a strong heartbeat of 117. VERY healthy and picture perfect. Baby B was measuring 5 weeks and 4 days with a heartbeat of 88, which would be normal for that measurement. Baby B was smaller but still healthy. The tech said this early in pregnancy it is normal for baby B to be measuring smaller… they will continue to monitor and baby B usually will catch up to baby A. We are hopeful that will be the case, but we’ve also read about the “disappearing twin” where the body will “absorb” the weaker baby.

I messaged my IFs right away with the news and pictures and their pure, raw joy and emotion is one of the most remarkable experiences of my life. I can only imagine what it will be like when I (hopefully) deliver their babies!!! 🙂

I have my first appointment with my Ob on Friday, December 12th. I’m anxious and excited to meet the doctor for the first time. She came highly recommended by my lawyer because of her medical experience and prior experience with surrogates. It makes it all feel very real. I’m also nervous about the ultrasound. Several people have cautioned me to be prepared to only see one heartbeat now. I’m choosing to have hope that Baby B will still be growing and catching up to his/her twin.

For those of you who carried multiples, what were your experiences with the size and development of them? I’d love to hear about your pregnancies with them!

7 responses »

  1. Oh my goodness!!!!

    Wow! Congrats to your IP’s! You are in for a ride, mumma! lol

    We had twins before I was a surrogate. But we only found out at the 12 week scan, so there was no early scan that I can refer back to that might have shown a big difference in sizing. In the end, twin B (our daughter) was always smaller than her brother (twin A- presenting twin) and at birth were 170gm difference in weight.

    Now at 2yo, our daughter is a tiny terror who is a whole 3.5-4kg lighter than her brother. But she well and truly makes up for it in personality!!

    There is no doubt that carrying twins is a little tougher and takes a bigger toll on your body but it they are such a blessing and I wish you so much luck and love for a wonderful pregnancy xo

    • I can always count on you for great information and inspiration! 🙂

      I am nervous about the idea of a twin pregnancy, but I am more nervous about the thought of losing one! I am just hoping for a healthy, boring, pregnancy and that my IPs are holding at least one healthy baby in their arms come this summer.

      Your children sound precious. I didn’t realize you had twins!!!

      • Anytime, lovely!

        I hope that twin B stays strong for you and your IP’s. I too hope you have a boring, healthy pregnancy! Anything can happen with twins, so you just gotta roll with it!

        My guys are complete rascals! But fun at the same time.

        You know where to find me if you have ANY questions at all xo

  2. So exciting for you and your IP’s!!! I hope my first transfer goes as smoothly as yours has so far 🙂 My fingers are crossed for you to have a long boring pregnancy!!!

Leave a Reply

